Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Moïcani - L'Odéonie

"Quand un salon littéraire devient un boudoir pour dames"

80 Days Ray Davies ( Jules Vernes Musical) 1987




Let It Be Written

When I'm thinking of the pages still unwritten
Staring at that empty page fills me with anger and with rage
It gives me chills, it makes me age

When I think of all the pages to be written
I'll write the lines, contrive the plot
I'll take the praise and all the knocks
And every word and in each line is a creation that's all mine

In 80 days 200 pages to be written
Still they're saying
(When will it be written?) I don't know
(When will it be written?) I don't know
(When will it be finished?) When it is done!

Writing is my occupation, money is the motivation
Must maintain my reputation, looking for some inspiration

Another line, another tale, another chapter to unveil
Another page, another book, but no one knows the toil it took

(When will it be written?)
(Soon it will be written)
(So let it be written, let it be done)

Pressures from the left and right keeping me awake at night
[?] finish it in time, the time has come for us to see some
Oh let it be finished, let it be done

All the knowledge ever learned, every peak and every plain
Every action, every stage, starting in every age

Nothing for another Frenchman, who then?
I promised my publishers and even more horrifying creature
Than a sea monster from 20,000 , more fantastic though
Than the prehistoric reptiles in the centre of the earth
But now I am faced to my greatest disputed challenge
The most icy inscrutable creature known to science: an Englishman

Now it's time to start the chain reaction
Clear my mind, begin this new idea
Treat the beast with great respect, entrap it with my intellect

(When will you deliver?) I don't know
(When will you deliver?) I don't know
(When will it be written?) When it is done!

(How can this be written?) I don't know
(Yes, it must be written) I don't know
(When will it be written?) When it is done!

The Empire Song (Our World)

Forever, forever
This empire will last forever
Forever, forever
This empire will last forever

Looking at the heavens
For a sign from God to come
But the face of God will blind you
Because God is the sun

And the sun goes round the earth
And sets in the far West
But the empire is the world
And the sun will never set

This is our world
Our world, our world
Our world, our world

I can tell you what you need to know
About the upper and the middle and the classes below
About the cruelty and the scandals, injustice and greed
In our world, in our world
That will last forever more

'Cause they're saying it's all gonna end
And there's a holocaust a-rising over the horizon
Today the empire stands alone
Against the forces of evil and the great unknown
It's gonna darken the sky and blind out the sun
And eclipse our world
They thought would last forever more

Our world, our world, our world, our world

This throne of kings is sacred 'cross this emerald isle set in a silver sea
This is our world
And any man who opposes it will have to answer to God and me
This is our world
United we stand, divided we fall
Our world, our world

Raise the banner high, hear the bugle call
We're the best with our backs against the wall
And protect the throne and stand alone
And preserve our world
They said would last forever more

Sure as mother is the moon and father is the sun
The pleasures of the flesh will condemn us each and everyone
United we stand, divided we fall

Our world, our world, our world, our world
Our world, our world, our world, our world

God save us all
Out world, our world, our world, our world
Will last forever more

It was not a mystic turn of fate
That made this tiny island rule the world
This is our world
It was God that made this nation great
It was our fate to dominate this world
This is our world
United we stand, divided we fall

Blessed are the patriots, protectors of this country and our queen
This is our world
Preserving law and order while using new technology
To intercept our enemies, detain subversive forces
From bringing down the standards of our world
This is our world

God bless Queen Victoria
And let the sun never set
On our world


A Well-Bred Englishman

While the Spaniards are content to lazily sit in the heat
The Italians are too disorganized to even compete
No people on Earth have got the qualifications of the Englishman

The Japanese are competent, but much too petite
The Germans are competitors, but always bound to defeat
No people on Earth have got the fine reputation of the well-bred Englishman
No nation on Earth except a good old Anglo-Saxon Englishman

William Shakespeare, Henry Fielding and Byron
(He was an Englishman)
Frederick Händel, Walter Scott, the list goes on
(He was an Englishman)
Sir Isaac Newton, Samuel Pepys, Sir Francis Drake were all Englishmen
(Quite right, don't you think?)

The Dutch are much too occupied with their chocolates and plants
Those Russians always threaten to, but they obviously can't
It's plainly clear there's only one man here to take up that challenge
And that's a well-bred Englishman
Oh yes he is, a good old Anglo-Saxon well-bred Englishman

Chaucer, Charles Dickens and Wordsworth
(He was an Englishman)
The greatest literary nation on this Earth
(Englishman)
Now our reputation as explorers and conquerors is at stake
(An Englishman)
An Englishman must never hesitate
They can try, but they can never break
A single well-bred Anglo-Saxon Englishman

[From the musical, but not on the demo:]
Ah, but what about the Americans?
Americans are good chaps for sport
But there are qualities that they lack
They are keen, but somehow they lack the experience of Captain Cook
Now there's a man

No nation on Earth has the qualifications of the well-bred Englishman
No nation on Earth except the good old Anglo-Saxon Englishman

Horatio Nelson, Richard the Lionheart, Albert the Great
(He was an Englishman)
Lord Wellington at Waterloo, Henry the Eighth
(He was an Englishman)
Leave for the sea, it would be a contender
Except for the gender, though he had quite a masculine gate
(An Englishman)
An Englishman must never break
No, don't underestimate the good old well-bred Anglo-Saxon Englishman
A well-bred Anglo-Saxon Englishman

Against The Tide 

We are men of destiny, our fates amalgamated in one
Comrades against adversity, heading for the setting sun
But all about us there are doubters who'll cheer us when the battle is won
They said it could never be, said that it could never be done

We're against the tide, with the wind in our face
With the Great Divide and a goal to chase
And if I don't survive, will you stay on the case
And will you testify in my place?
So bring on the storm
And bring on the rain
When we're against the tide
That's the time when we're on the top of our game

We are men of destiny, our fates amalgamated in one
Comrades against adversity, heading for the setting sun
But when the cruel winds blow, we'll be in the race
When your spirits are low, we'll put a smile on your face
When the going's slow, we're gonna pick up the pace
But with dignity and with grace
La la la la la la, la la la la la la
La la la la la la, la la la la la la

We're gonna weather the storm (we're gonna weather the storm)
So bring on the rain (so bring on the rain)
Weather the storm (weather the storm)
We're gonna shrug off the rain (we're gonna shrug off the rain)
When we're against the tide
That's the time when we're on top of our game

When we're against the tide, that's when we'll do our best
And they'll be all surprised when we stand the test
With a ticket to ride and a mutual quest
Together we'll stand the test
So bring on the storm (bring on the storm)
The thunder and rain (the thunder and rain)
Bring on the storm (bring on the storm)
Bring on the rain (bring on the rain)
When we're against the tide
That's the time when we're on top of our game

Ladies Of The Night

Don't be shy or sentimental, be a little continental
She's not bashful, she's no tease and once you start it's oh so easy
So enjoy yourself tonight, come and whet your appetite
And enjoy the city lights out with the ladies of the night

How coarse, how vulgar, I must be on my way
I'm much too occupied to stay out with the ladies of the night
(He's much too occupied to stay out with the ladies of the night)

I'm so warm and continental, don't be cold and regimental
My flesh is weak and very willing, let me show you something thrilling
We're the ladies of the night, vulgar, coarse and impolite
Serving gentry through the centuries, come and feed your appetite
So enjoy yourself tonight, come and whet your appetite
Come enjoy the city lights out with the ladies of the night

And when the early morning comes, I'll wait to face a lonely day
Nighttime's full of laugh and fun, but tomorrow you'll be far away
Nighttime's full of fantasy, but tomorrow you'll be gone from me
When night turns into day, in your reality I'll be just another memory

So tonight let's be together, live for love and life and pleasure
Feel each moment there to treasure, soon we will be gone forever
Have you no virility and no masculinity
We'll be [?] out with the ladies of the night

Tomorrow you'll be far away and I'll be just a memory
And another lady of the night will guide you through another day
Nighttime's full of fantasy, but tomorrow you'll be gone from me
When night turns into day, in your reality I'll be just another memory

But tonight we'll be together, live for love and life and pleasure
See each moment there to treasure, soon you will be gone forever
So enjoy yourself tonight, come and whet your appetite
Come enjoy the city lights up with the ladies of the night
Come enjoy the city lights up with the ladies of the night

For tomorrow you'll be gone and you'll be far away
And I'll be just another memory

On The Map

I said it was impossible
But now it's highly probable
That wretched man's unstoppable
Be blown, now fancy that

He's bypassed Scandinavia
And passing through Romania
Where on earth is Romania?
(It's somewhere on the map)

That man is simply quite beyond belief
At least he's one of us, that's a relief
(Blah blah blah blah blablablah
Blah blah blah blah blablablah
Blah blah blah blah blablablah
He's somewhere on the map

He's on the map (He's on the map)
He's on the map (He's on the map)
He's on the map (He's on the map)
Somewhere on the map

They thought it inconceivable
But now it's quite believable
That man seems quite unbeatable
He's somewhere on the map

He's on the map (On the map)
He's on the map (On the map)
He's on the map (On the map)
Somewhere on the map

They say he's got a crew in tow
Oh really? Anyone I know?
Darkies, frogs[?], well I'll be blown
If so, I'll eat my hat

He's on the map (He's on the map)
He's on the map (He's on the map)
He's on the map (He's on the map)
He's somewhere on the map

It Could Have Been Him

Once I had a man, he was a simple man
But he was honest through and through
He was rough and ready, but dignified
In fact he looked a lot like you

I'll search the seven seas to find him
Though temptations beckon, I will never break
Because until I know his fate
Like a nun I vow to sit and wait

He was strong, upright and true
And he was always faithful to me
And he knew how to treat a lady
And such a Romeo, that's why I miss him so

And in times, the hour of need
He'd always come and hold my hand
'Cause he knew how to please his lady
Hd'd just take me in his arms and say, "I understand"

He was a working man, he was an old-fashioned, strong
And dominating, lustful and he smelt like a man
But he respected me, never neglected me
He was always there to touch me, tease me, hold me, please me
Yes

He never failed to satisfy my every whim
'Cause he knew what his lady needed
And there's something about you that reminds me of him

Is that a wart on the side of your nose?
It reminds me of him, 'cause he had one of those
And those anxious wrinkles across your brow
And that masculine dimple on your chin
Oh, I just looked at you and it could have been him

It could have been him
It could have been him

Mongolia Song/No Surprises

When I was a child I tried to sail away to sea
The ocean symbolized adventure, romance and mystery
The sea holds all the secrets of man's mortality
Great men come and go, but the sea lives on eternally
Some men are shallow, others are deeper then the sea
But all men sometimes show emotion and feelings for humanity

But if he has a heart (So far everything has gone as planned)
He keeps it locked away (Everything's on schedule, no surprises)
Somehow I must get through (The ship's in order, everything's in place)
Somehow, some way (Full steam ahead, keep up the pace)

This man, he has no heart, can't understand him
It's so frustrating and creating[?], where do I start?
This man, he has no heart, no soul to penetrate
No sign of love, no sign of hate
My mind is all at sea, is there something that I've missed?
Am I looking for a man who can't exist?

And if he has a heart (So far everthing's on schedule, no surprises)
He keeps it locked away (The ship's in order, everything's in place)
Somehow I must get through (Full steam ahead, keep up the pace)
I will some day

When I was a child I dreamed man journeyed to the stars
I had such great imagination, infinity seemed not so far
Demo: But men of little vision only see reality
Musical: But am I losing touch with the man I used to be
So why is this man defeating me?

Help me understand (This journey round the world has no surprises)
I must get inside his mind (But this tarpaulin's burning my back-side)
Is there something that I missed (I must admit Mr. Fogg's a devious fellow)
Or am I going blind? (But to me he looks a little shifty-eyed)

He is a fake, he's nothing special
The man's a villain, he's just a criminal, he's not all he seems
And when I find a clue (80 days and still so much to do)
He'll have nowhere to run (I've been [?], but I'll break through)
The evidence will prove (Somehow I know my judgment's true)
He is the one

I wonder if the Egyptians knew or cared about the cost
A life is a life and a life costs nothing once that life is lost
I wonder who those poor devils were and when and how they died
It all seems so undignified

Did their poor regents realize what they were dying for?
A contribution to an England that they never saw
A monument should be erected with a tribute underneath
In Hyde Park or Hampstead Heath

Is this true love? (We're right on course, just as I planned)
Is this romance? (If I might say, a perfect piece of estimation)
Yet, I must stay true (By dawn we'll reach our destination)
To my old man, except for you (Don't tell the crew)

Looking for our man (Full steam ahead with no surprises)
Searching high and low (The ship's in order, everything's in place)
Over sea and land (By dawn we'll reach our destination)
The sky and earth below

I'll search the seven seas to find the truth
Before this journey's over, I'll find out

Is it all my self doubt? (I'll sniff him out) (The way you just grin)
Perhaps I'm written-out (I'll find some proof) (The way that you pass) (And lock him in jail)
Perhaps I'm drying up (The way you just look) (And throw away the key) (It could have been him)
Perhaps it's me?

Welcome To India

Mr. Fogg, welcome to India
The largest colony of the crown
Your reputation has preceded you
You have done the empire proud

Every patriotic Englishman
Will not forget this day
The empire's with you, Mr. Fogg
Three cheers, hip hip hurrah

Hip hip hurrah
Hip hip hurrah
He's a well-bred Englishman

How is good old Blighty?
I hear the weather's really fine
And if there's anything I can do to make your life more comfortable
The pleasure is all mine

'Cause he's an Englishman (he's an Englishman)
And Fogg is his name (and Fogg is his name)
And he's always on time
And he's always on top of his game


Just Passing Through

We've been here long enough
In all this filth and dust
And all this dirt and degradation
The squalor and the heat (a superficial state)
The beggars in the street (accepting what is fate)
And so uncivilized
I simply can't believe my eyes

Why is there such a fuss?
Why is there such a rush
With all this mystery around us?
I suspect you must be a man without feeling
Always on the move, always passing
The beggars in the street
The squalor and the heat
Because you're only passing through

I feel so moved by what I see
I feel a light inside of me
I feel a sudden revelation
Is it the sun, is it the heat?
I feel I'm waking from a sleep
The blood that's flowing through my veins
Reacts to some great ugly[?] change
And now when we leave India
Our world will never be the same

After this, life would have found a new meaning
Something wondrous, something new
Instead of merely passing
The beggars in the street (a superficial state)
The poverty and heat (accepting what is fate)
Because you're only passing through

The beggars in the street
The squalor and the heat
Nothing's affecting you
Because we're only passing through

I suspect you only look without seeing
Which is convenient to do
When you're only passing
The beggars in the street (the beggars in the street)
The squalor and the heat (the squalor and the heat)
Because you're only passing through

Always such a fuss
Always in a rush
With all this mystery around us
For I suspect you must be a man without feeling
Always on the move and always passing
The beggars in the street
The squalor and the heat
Because you're only passing through


Who Do You Think You Are

Who do you think you are?
A gallant rescuer?
A knight in shining armor?
A great adventurer?

Who do you think you are?
You walking tick-tock man
You just walked into my life
With no excuse or invitation

At least I should demand an explanation
An apology is too much to expect
From an egocentric pompous ignoramus
Who does not know the meaning of the word respect

Don't you realize what you are doing
Or even think about what you have done?
I really might consider even suing
You wretch, you boar, I've seen your type before

You come to the jungle with your big shotgun
Surrounded by lackeys, the great mighty one
Then cut off the head of the dead tiger
Another trophy to hang on the wall

Then you boast about all your great conquests
While your women retire from the room
While you sip at your port and play billiards
And reminisce about the wogs and colonial coons
Well here's a wog who's far superior to you

Your style, your views
Straight from The London Illustrated News
You speak your mind once you have read it in The Times
Ha ha, poo poo, your condescending attitude
Hee hee, ho ho, your pompous regimental pose

The cut of your jacket, the style of your hair
Just like the cover of Vanity Fair
And I suspect in your case it's pure vanity
Or ignorance or sheer pomposity
No, I think it's just stupidity

You think you're the conqueror and the hero
Defending the empire, a great [?] foe
You fight to the death, no matter the cost
But now you're here and you are lost

Your stubborn pride prevents the wrong admission
If you were drowning would you sink or swim
If swimming meant you'd made the wrong decision?
You'd sooner drown, now that is rather dear

If a man doesn't know he's a fool, then help him
If a man has no manners, he needs teaching
If he is asleep, then he needs waking
If he's stupid, he needs shaking
If he is lost, he needs a guide
And if a man's wise, then follow him

My father was the wisest man
So strong, yet so kind, but always a leader
He was born to rule this troubled land
Which he did like a warrior, like his father before him
But more than all his quality
He ruled over his subjects with compassion and dignity

The earth, the land, the sky, the sea
No, my father was all
Yesterday and tomorrow
And into eternity

Who do you think you are?
A walking tick-tock man?
A great adventurer?
A mechanical automaton?

Who do you think you are?
A gallant rescuer?
A knight in shining armor?
Why should I even care?

80 Days

 

In 80 days I am condemned to write this book
But still so much is missing, I have a thread but still no hook
Perhaps I'll find a way inside my mind
Complete my book in 80 days

In 80 days to circumnavigate this plan
I'll do my duty as a noble Englishman
For queen and country I will do what must be done
80 days to save my honour and a wager to be won

In 80 days I will restore my shattered pride
And fiddle the expenses, make some money on the side
Redeem my reputation, perhaps a knighthood will ensue
At least I'll save my job, restore my pension when it's due
In 80 days

Time has no meaning in this void, I lost a husband and a home
I bore a child, betrayed my faith
I see a future and a past that has no face. What's 80 days?
Time has no meaning in a spirit floating endlessly in space
80 days

80 days to find a long lost husband that is mine
With a little slap and tickle just to pass the time
And see the world, a chance that I might never have again
And help my son, so his quest is not totally in vain
For 80 days
80 days

I'll wager he won't do it. There's no way it can be done
We always back a winner and there's no way that he's one
He'll disappoint the nation, he'll fall flat on his face
What a just humiliation, he'll never stand the pace
For 80 days

In 80 days we can do it
80 Days
In 80 days we can do it

Will I reach my goal in 80 days?
(80 seconds, 80 minutes, 80 hours)
Will I write my book in 80 days?
Will I have a job in 80 days?
A wager to be won in 80 days
Will I find my man?
(80 months, 80 years, 80 decades, 80 days)
Will I get promoted?
A deadline to be met in 80 days
Perhaps another holiday?
Will I put the criminal in jail?
[?] my page in 80 days

Will I reach my goal in 80 days?

In 80 days we can do it
80 days
In 80 days we can do it


Members Of The Club

I can deal with the national crisis, economic worry and strife
Though my mind is racked with indecision
Pressures from the radicals, pressures from the right
And appear to appease my critics, yet retain my party line
I can have it both ways at the very same time
I'm the man in the middle, I can stem the tide
And keep the lower classes satisfied
And still make the wealthy think I'm on their side
In government it's always compromise
To give in and somehow seem dignified

I can say "yes" while appearing to say "no"
Seem radical, yet maintain the status quo
I can defer decisions, manipulate and bluff
But I can't fool the members of the club

I'll face the press, I'll face the toughest militants
But then I'll face the members of the club (we're the members of the club)
I'll face Her Grace, Her Majesty will understand
But I'll be in disgrace with the members of the club (we're the members of the club)
Will my decision be accepted by the club? (we're the members of the club)
Will I still be well-respected by the club? (we're the members of the club)
Or will I bear the front of endless ridicule?
What is the right and proper thing to do?

I can delegate and engage the opposition
In a sane debate, but not the members of the club (we're the members of the club)
I can satisfy demands of queen and country
But I can't get by the members of the club (we're the members of the club)
I can't arrest a member of the club (we're the members of the club)
Except with the permission of the club (we're the members of the club)
If I do there will be questions at the club
So I must comply to satisfy the club

So hesitate and contemplate a little more
For heaven's sake, he's a member of the club
But the ultimate decision rests with you
But if you're wrong, your membership must be reviewed
And then dire consequences might ensue
So you must find the right and proper thing to do

Conspiracy

From the gutter to the highest steeple in the land
Corruption, like a plague, is bearing down on every man
From the wealth of high society to the lowliest of slums
The vile stench of evil is corrupting everyone
The very fabric of our nation is infested by deceits
And the criminals are plotting my demise and my defeat

My life is a crusade for law and order
It's my quest to see that justice will be done
But so much is undetected 'cause society is infected
By the lies and the hypocrisy, conspiracy, conspiracy
When evil rears its ugly head, the devil has its day
And everyone's a suspect and crime must never pay
Conspiracy, conspiracy
We all smell a conspiracy

People are conspiring all around me (we know the feeling)
I have difficulty knowing who to trust (conspiracy)
Even the so-called aristocracy is riddled with conspiracy
Corruption and hypocrisy, conspiracy, conspiracy
And Satan smiles as man becomes his slave
With corruption and conspiracy, I'll fight it to my grave
And when the worms devour my flesh, they'll hear me say
"It was all a conspiracy 'cause I ended up this way"
Conspiracy, conspiracy, we all smell a conspiracy

One crime leads to another, when you're working undercover
Protecting queen and country is my task (conspiracy)
But where there's muck there's money and no man's above suspicion
Money knows no scruples and no class
And the perverted threat of corruption never ends
They cover up some hypocrisy, conspiracy, conspiracy

In the corridors of power and high places (conspiracy)
In parliament and in the public schools (conspiracy)
They're preaching law and order, but they're breaking all the rules
And criminals are running free, conspiracy, conspiracy
I love to see those villains cringe when they know I'm on the trail
Because I always get my man and my system never fails
And then they start to panic and they make just one mistake
Then under cross-examination eventually they break

My theory is that man's created evil (created evil)
Well, I'll illuminate the clues and solve the case (conspiracy)
As long as God is on my side I will never end this chase
Until I'm staring Heaven in the face
And one Phileas Fogg is the devil incarnate
And all his fancy trickery, cover ups and treachery
Is a trail of foul conspiracy that will lead me to my fate

Tell Her, Tell Him

Tell her she is my guest, but my patience is waning
Tell him how dare he protest, he's the one who's complaining
Tell her be quiet and speak only when asked
Tell him I chose to ignore his remarks
Tell her she'll travel steerage (We'll travel first class)
If she doesn't tow the line (With every comfort you ask)
Tell her I always take meals alone
And always at regular times (Tell him my [?])
Tell him his presence offends me (She's allergic to cigars)
Tell him I'd rather starve
I'd rather sleep with the rats in my cabin in steerage
Than travel with him in first class
Tell her she's not obliged to be grateful (Tell him she is)
She [?] (full of hate)
Tell her that travel will broaden her mind
The same as it's narrowed his
Tell him he is pitiful (She admires you)
And I'm pleased to reciprocate (Such flattery too much and too late)
She is [?] (She is bored), she is [?]
Tell him spending a minute with him is eternal damnation
(She treasures every moment in your presence)
Another tedious moment with him, I'll explode with frustration
(She is overwhelmed to be in the same room with you)
Telling him, telling her, what a strange situation
Telling her, telling him, but avoid confrontation
With cooperation, collaboration
For me this journey around the world
Cooperation, collaboration around the world

Tell him that the days spent on this boat
Were ten days I will always detest (The journey was a sheer delight)
Tell her I'm tired of her sniveling ways
Tell her I couldn't care less (He says to travel with you is delightful)
Tell him good riddance, I'm glad he is gone
Tell her now we've unloaded the baggage, we can move on
He says farewell, she says good bye
She thanks him for all of his hospitality
He is so moved by her gratitude
He finds it impossible to speak
Tell him, tell her, tell him, tell her
Tell him, tell her, tell him, tell her
Collaboration around the world

Tell him three more days with him is more than I can swallow (She's feeling ill)
And tell her to stay here and rot away in Singapore (I'll be in Cairo)
Tell her her shamming(?) is slowing me down (He's concerned)
Tell her that I have a world to go around
Tell him he makes me depressed (Tell her I'm not impressed)
My death will be on his conscious (Then I will gladly confess)
Tell them stop this constant heartache
It will spoil my holiday
Cooperation, collaboration
We mustn't wait another day

Someone tell me where did I go wrong
I was in charge of this story 'till she came along
Telling him, telling her
We're terrified just in case I might say something wrong

Tell him I'll celebrate when he's gone (She'll be sad when you're gone)
Tell her her parting will suit me (And he will pursue)
Tell him he has no right to abandon me here
Tell him I think it my duty
Telling her, telling him, what a strange situation
Telling her, telling him, but avoid confrontation
Telling him, telling her, telling him
Telling him, telling her, telling him
But who's telling me I'm going round the world without a story
The time racing by when I'm wasting time
Telling him, telling her
Cooperation (tell him, tell her, tell him, tell her)
Collaboration (tell him, tell her, tell him, tell her)
Consideration (tell him, tell her) around the world
Cooperation, collaboration, consideration around the world

Be Rational

I've so much still to learn
I've found another open door
To find, discover and explore
And when that's done there'd still be more

I thought I knew it all
But now I've broken all my rules
She got me stumbling like a fool
My knowledge seems so minuscule

Be rational, think
What is it I'm feeling?
I feel so alive, yet paralyzed

Really goes to show
How deep emotions sometimes go
The more we learn, the less we know

Be rational, think of the club
Consider your reputation
A raconteur, adventurer

Be rational, be wise
Assess the situation
Be calm, be cold, it will be so

And logically I should decline
There's no equation to define
A feeling that is so divine
A man like me just has no time

I'm such a worldly man
For once I'm stuck without a plan
For once I need a guiding hand
Somebody help me understand

You're intelligent, you're smart
But it's not in your equation
Or on the map, or in the chart

You see you simply lost your heart



Thanks : Dave Emlen KindaKinks

 

 





80 Days - A New Musical (1988)

Ray Davies and his alter ego Jules Verne vs. Broadway and mediocrity
by Thomas Bartoldus

"When you're doing ›Around the World‹ and entering the world of Jules Verne, there's no choice but to be big and spectacular." Broadway director and dramaturge Des McAnuff does not have any doubts about the extraordinary nature of a musical, which critics called one of the most lavish and expensive stage productions the West Coast has ever seen. Six years of intensive preparation had preceded the world premiere of ›80 Days. A New Musical‹ on August 23, 1988, at the Mandell Weiss Theatre in San Diego. Together with playwright Snoo Wilson (script) and English songwriter Ray Davies (music and lyrics), Tony-Award winner McAnuff created during this period a musical of 2 ½ hours length. Modern stage design with movable intermediate stages, along with extravagant properties and lavish costumes, formed a kaleidoscopic framework for not less than 40 changes of scenery and 400 changes of costumes. 173 Commedia-dell'Arte-style masks gave the 24 actors the opportunity to perform up to 200 characters of different origin. The baroque equipment supported a story full of allusions which follows the plot of Verne's novel on the outside, but is on the inside only 'inspired' by its literary model and the biography of the author who as a literary figure takes the role of the French servant Passepartout.

The content: The writer Verne is in the midst of a creative and social crisis: he has to provide nourishment for his family, and publishers force him to deliver a new best-seller within 80 days. In order to overcome his writer's block, Verne decides to travel around the world in 80 days as a servant to the English gentleman Phileas Fogg - a journey which takes place only in his fantasy. Being creator and creature of his literary imagination at the same time, Verne tries, against the opposition of the fictitious cast, to present the events following the bet in London's Reform Club in an attractive manner. In the meantime, he is constantly being persecuted by a gigantic typewriter, which serves as a reminder of the peremptory deadline and the expectations of his publishers. Verne's concept is considerably shaken not only by Fogg's emotional coldness and his arrogance, but also by an uninvited travelling companion, namely the Victorian matron Mrs Fix, the mother of the detective, as well as by the haughty Indian princess Aouda, who refuses to play the part of the damsel in distress and the paramour. Along the way from London via Paris, Suez, Bombay, Calcutta, Yokohama to San Francisco by ship, train, elephant, and - against Verne's will - by aerostat, the travellers encounter not only characters from earlier novels (e.g. Captain Nemo), but also historical characters such as Queen Victoria, prime minister Gladstone, and the American journalist and feminist Nellie Bly. Having reached the end of the journey and the novel, Fogg, Aouda and her child finally come together in a marriage blessed by Queen Victoria, whereas Verne has to face new literary challenges.

The way time is presented - not to say over-represented - as a central theme in "80 Days" hints at the apocalyptic dimension of this piece of world theatre with an imperialistic tone: Verne, Fogg, Fix, Mrs Fix, and Aouda together form a miniature portrait of the Empire, whose time finally has come. The end of the musical, which differs from its source, is an ironic swansong for the Victorian Age, trying hard to suggest that ethnic prejudices have been overcome: having received Queen Victoria's blessing, the freshly-married couple walks into the sunset, although not alone. They are accompanied by Aouda's child, symbolizing the next generation. At the end of the Empire, where the sun goes never down ("Empire Song"), there waits the agony of the 20th century.

The musical combines textual and/or dialogue passages of different length with musical parts of varied character; they are used to increase the action, to interpret and to comment. The music is the motor of "80 Days". Ray Davies relates his music to Verne's narrative variety and the satiric potential of Wilson's script. Quite early he became, although an Englishman, fascinated by American musicals such as "Oklahoma!" or "Calamity Jane". His contribution to "80 Days" combines different styles of music such as military marches, ragtime, can-can, vaudeville, bebop, and raga that add up to something like the soundtrack of a journey around the world. At first, Davies was not fascinated at all when McAnuff approached him with the idea of making a musical based on Verne's novel in 1984. "I didn't like the novel. It was a bit of a travelogue." The closer he studied the French writer, however, the better he was able to recognize similarities in nature between the two of them. Davies was even responsible for the idea of making Verne himself the protagonist of the play: "I wanted it to be about Verne rather than the sort of travelogue like the Mike Todd movie. And I also wanted it to be about the Empire, about imperialism. I've always had a passion for that."

 

   

The musical received mixed responses from the critics, provided these nuances were recognized at all. Ray Davies's multi-faceted music, McAnuff's directing, and the acting (Stephen Bogardus, among others), however, were well received. On the whole, it was acknowledged that McAnuff, Wilson and Davies went to the limit of what is possible on stage, but at the same time many critics viewed the play as being too cluttered to ever reach Broadway. While taking a closer look, it becomes evident that advantages and disadvantages of the production are mutually responsible for each other and hint at the sore point of any conversion of a novel into a drama: The limited space of narrative time indigenous to a musical or a drama is always in contrast to the sheer vastness of literary content. Despite good attendance figures and awards, the musical was performed for the last time on October 9, 1988, in San Diego, without making it to Broadway. Nevertheless (or perhaps just because of that), "80 Days" rises above the previous stage adaptations of ›Around the World in 80 Days‹ in terms of creative interpretation and artistic reproduction.

Production: La Jolla Playhouse, San Diego (USA)
Music and lyrics: Ray Davies
Written by: Snoo Wilson
Directed by: Des McAnuff (Foto)
Conception: Ray Davies, Des McAnuff und Snoo Wilson
Inspired by Jules Vernes Roman ›Reise um die Welt in 80 Tagen‹
Choreographer: Dianne McIntyre
Stage design: Douglas W. Schmidt
Costumes: Susan Hilferty
Masks: Christina Haatainen

Cast: Stephen Bogardus (Verne), Timothy Landfield (Fogg), Yamil Borges (Aouda, Foto), Brooks Almy (Mrs. Fix), Don Amendolia (Fix) u.a.
   

Performed from August 23 to October 9, 1988, at Mandell Weiss Theatre, San Diego

Received awards for "Best Musical" (San Diego Theatre Critics Circle) and production, direction, acting (Brooks Almy and Timothy Landfield), scenery and costumes (Drama-Logue)

First Act (Frankreich - London - Europa - Indien)
"Let It Be Written" - Verne, family and publishers
"The Empire Song" - Preacher, Mrs Fix, Gladstone, archbishop, astronomer, Fix
"Well-Bred Englishman" - Fogg and Reform Club
"Against The Tide" - Fogg and Verne
"Ladies Of The Night" - Ladies, Fogg and Madame
"It Could Have Been Him" - Mrs. Fix
"Mongolia Song/No Suprises" - Verne, Fogg, Fix, Mrs. Fix, Cumberland
"It Could Have Been Him (Reprise)" - Queen Victoria
"Welcome To India" - Gouverneur and soldiers
"Just Passing Through" - Fogg and Verne
"On The Map (Reprise)" - Reform Club, Queen Victoria
"Members Of The Club" - Gladstone and Reform Club
"80 Days" - Verne, Fogg, Fix, Aouda, Mrs. Fix

Second Act (Asien - USA - England)
"Tell Him, Tell Her" - Fogg, Aouda, Verne, Mrs. Fix
"Let It Be Written (Reprise)" - Verne, family and publishers
"Who Is This Man" - Aouda
"Here!" - Nellie Bly
"On The Map (Reprise)" - Reform Club
"A Place In Your Heart" - Mudge, Mrs. Mudge, Aouda, Fogg, Fix, Mrs. Fix
"Be Rational" - Fogg and Verne
"80 Days (Reprise)" - Aouda, Bly, Mrs. Fix, Fogg, Nemo, Verne
"Finale"

Partager cet article
Repost0
Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article
H
<br /> <br /> Luckily to read your article,thank you!<br /> <br /> <br /> <br />
Répondre