Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Moïcani - L'Odéonie

"Quand un salon littéraire devient un boudoir pour dames"

"Vegetables" The Beach Boys









I'm gonna be round my vegetables
I'm gonna chow down my vegetables
I love you most of all
My favorite vege-table

If you brought a big brown bag of them home
I'd jump up and down and hope you'd toss me a carrot

I'm gonna eat my, my vegetables
im gunna love my, my vegetables
I love you most of all
My favorite vege-table

Oh oh taba vega vegel

I tried to kick the ball but my tenny flew right off
I'm red as a beet 'cause I'm so embarassed

Sleep a lot eat a lot brush em like crazy
Run a lot do a lot never be lazy
Sleep a lot eat a lot brush em like crazy
Run a lot do a lot never be lazy

Oh oh dum do dum de dooby do
Oh oh dum do dum de dooby do
Oh oh dum do dum de dooby do
oh yeah
Oh badumday oh dum do dum de dooby do
Oh badumday oh dum do dum de dooby do

I throw away my candy bar and I ate the wrapper
And when they told me what I did I burst into laughter

I know that you'll feel better
When you send us in
Your letter an'
Tell us the name of your
Your favorite vege-table






Paul McCartney was in the studio when Brian Wilson was mixing this song - you can hear him in the background munching on celery.


In 1847 the Bible Christian organization took the lead in establishing the first national vegetarian Society which was formed at Ramsgate, England. At its inaugural meeting the word "vegetarian" was coined. The word should not be confused with the word "vegetable," it was derived from the Latin "vegetus," meaning whole, vigorous, active. Around the same time in America the teenage Louisa Alcott's father was exchanging vegetarian recipes with his friends the essayists Ralph Emerson and Henry Thoreau. (From the book Food for Thought: Extraordinary Little Chronicles of the World by Ed Pearce)








"Vegetables" (or "Vega-Tables") is a song written by Brian Wilson and Van Dyke Parks for the American pop band The Beach Boys. It was released on their 1967 album Smiley Smile with Al Jardine and Brian Wilson on lead vocals.

The song was originally composed and recorded during the infamous Smile sessions. After the shelving of the Smile album, it was re-arranged and simplified for its eventual release on Smiley Smile, as were the songs "Heroes And Villains", "Wind Chimes" and "Wonderful". A discarded bridge section from Vegetables was later reused as Mama Says on the album Wild Honey.

In 1993, the original version of Vegetables was finally given an official release, along with a slew of other Smile material, on the Good Vibrations boxset. A new recording of the song (based on the original version) was made for the 2004 release of Brian Wilson Presents Smile. All versions of the song feature the novel use of vegetable chewing as percussion. During the Smile sessions, Paul McCartney was recorded chewing celery. Al Jardine remembers that "the night before a big tour, I was out in the studio recording the vocal [for 'Vegetables'] when, to my surprise, Paul McCartney walked in and joined Brian at the console. And, briefly, the two most influential musical Geminis in the world had a chance to work together. I remember waiting for long periods of time between takes to get to the next section or verse. Brian [seemed to have] lost track of the session. Paul would come on the talkback and say something like 'Good take, Al.'" (WIKIPEDIA)

beachboys_smile_cover.jpgsimlesm.jpg
Partager cet article
Repost0
Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article